To please or not to please?

People are sometimes living in the way the society tells them how to live. Often times, we cover our own identity just to fit in and to be accepted. Is it true or is it a lie? or is it even worth it?

Before, I been trying hard to be my best and to be the best version of myself. I triedย hard to please some people at work, friends, and family. I actually did what they wanted, for them to be pleased at some point. But, I grew tired of it eventually. Nowadays, I try to be and try to show them what I am made of regardless of what they think of me, and boy, I’m telling you, I can breathe now.

I am not saying that I don’t try to please people in my life now, I still do, but only in the most simple ways. Cooking and baking. Making my chores well and loving them the way I want to. As far as I can see, it is worth the try to be you especially when you are surrounded by good people who can accept you, no matter what.

However, I asked myself why did I even try to please other people and felt little. Maybe because I wanted to be accepted on the standard that they have, or I just wanted to be “one”of them, not realizing that “Me” was lacking. I am only one of those people who had their identity gone because we had to please and be accepted by many people. I know how it feels when people think you are “weird” in their eyes because you’re different.

Now, I can see lots of people are getting out of their shell and loving their own skin, their own race and be proud even if people are finding it “not normal”.I’m not saying that we shouldn’t please people, but I do think that having a limit to it will be best. A confident and unconditional love, support and self-worth are the most important things that a person should have for us not feel the need to please people. As a reminder, each of us are unique in one way or another, being accepted is given not being asked.

29 Comments Add yours

  1. This is, unfortunately, so true. We lose our own identity when doing things how others think we should. We our our own person and we have our own way of going about things. Pleasing ourselves is way more important than pleasing others. xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Judy Redic says:

      I agree with you. Often times, people get lost in this kind of game and finding our selves again is hard.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Books N Me says:

    Lovely post. So true.
    We should always be what we are are. Nd not give the world and it’s people a damn!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Judy Redic says:

      Lovely response as well! I agree, definitely having that thought on me nowadays.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post Judy and absolutely true we need to be more with ourselves than listening all the time to other people around us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Judy Redic says:

      Thank you! I agree with you, surrounding yourself with good people will definitely give you a boost in self confidence ๐Ÿ˜Šโ˜บ๏ธ

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Living your life the way society wants is like killing yourself. People should understand that we all have just ONE life and we should live it the way WE WANT. Why do we want others to accept us? Just to get their Love? My dear, there is either Love or condition. Both of them can’t go together.

    Nice post Judy.
    I Loved it…๐Ÿ˜˜โœŒ

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jobbie says:

    Thank you…too many of us needed to hear that. Bless your dear heart

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Judy Redic says:

      My pleasure and thank you for appreciating!

      Like

  6. Love it from the start to the finish! Good read ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿฟ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿฟ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿฟ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Judy Redic says:

      Thank you! You always show me love here ๐Ÿ˜Šโ˜บ๏ธ

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Love this!! It’s so true, we should be ourselves and try to stick to that even if sometimes it’s hard! Loved this piece of writing ๐ŸŒธ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Judy Redic says:

      Wow, thank you! I appreciate and felt honored knowing you liked it.

      Like

  8. So glad to see that you are doing something for yourself and not others! Loving yourself is so important and it’s almost impossible to please everyone in your life but you can only do the best you can a day the end of he day if they really care they’ll appreciate your efforts and love you for you๐Ÿค—

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Judy Redic says:

      Thank you. I’m learning and you’re right, pleasing everyone is a pain, lol. I just try my best for my self and everything follows, i guess.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all the angels can do!

        Like

      2. I totally agree if we cannot accept ourselves the way we are and are not confident of our selves everyone around ourselves will also do the same so it’s better to please ourselves the world will follow๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Judy Redic says:

        I totally agree with you, too. Though, sometimes it’s hard to do it, but we should be more loving towards ourselves.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. When you have the conviction to love yourself unconditionally the world will follow …. Just a personal experience so I am sharing it with you But whatever you do in life do it with love.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Judy Redic says:

      True, and I agree. Loving oneself is the greatest thing you could give yourself. You too, love every thing you do ๐Ÿ˜Šโ˜บ๏ธ

      Like

    1. Judy Redic says:

      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I love this…

    It got me to stop and think..

    Thank you

    xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Judy Redic says:

      Thank you so much for liking it!

      Like

  11. Very true.. until a few years back I always tried to please people around me.. but it’s when the realisation hit me that I am compromising on my own character that I stopped this ‘be in good books always’ attitude and living my true self.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Judy Redic says:

      That’s really good to hear, whatever you do, people will always something to say, good or bad. So, we might as well live the way we wanted to be. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

